Sunday, December 9, 2012

NCCA feted 21 cultural masters

2012 Dayaw Festival awards

MALOLOS CITY—The National Commission on Culture and the Arts (NCCA) feted 21 master craftsmen on from different indigenous groups as part of the culminating activity of the 2012 Dayaw festival here on Thursday night, November 29.

The 21 master craftsmen received their awards during a banquet sponsored by the provincial government of Bulacan and the city government of Malolos at the historic Barasoain church yard here.

 The banquet, according to Dr. Joycie Dorado-Alegre of the NCCA sub-commission on cultural communities and traditional arts (SCCTA) is reminiscent of the opening of the Malolos Congress which drew representative from across the country 114 years ago.

“This is historic and symbolic event because it happened 114 years after the opening of Malolos Congress,” said Dorado-Alegre noting that about 600 indigenous peoples representing 47 tribal groups were present in Thursday night’s event.
Banquet at Barasoain

Long applause followed her statement and comments from participants who likened the banquet into a national tribal council except for the lack of politics involve.

With regards to the awardees, Dorado-Alegre described them as the few who are part of the country’s school of living traditions.

“Their skills and craftsmanship are unparallel and a testament of our creativity and colorful traditions,” she said.

Earlier, Dr. Felipe De Leon, the chair of the NCCA stressed that Filipinos have so much to learn from IP groups.

He cited the speech of President Benigno Aquino which was read by former Senator Jamby Madrigal on the opening day of the festival which stated that from Luzon to Visayas and Mindanao, IP culture have influenced the larger Filipino culture.

De Leon added that IP groups must be considered as teachers saying that “they preserved their culture while we lowlanders assimilated news culture to the extent that we forgot where we came from.”

With regards to the 21 awardees, De Leon said they are not only master craftsmen but cultural masters and purveyor of school of living traditions of their communities.
Francisco Eligio

The awardees are Micahel Dexter Aliguyon of Kiangan, a cultural (CM) on Ifugao performing arts; Emilia Alindayo, a CM on Ifugao textile weaving and clothing, Ellenera Aliguyon,  a CM on Ifugao performing arts, loom weaving, textile weaving and clothing.

Amparo Mabanag of Mountain Province (Ga’dang cloth weaving and accessory making), Rebecca Reyes of Abucay, Bataan (Ayta Magbukon performing arts), Cenia Lastrilla of Calinog, Iloilo (Panay-Bukidnon epic narration with chanting, Binanog dance and Panubok hand embroidery), Aurelio Damas of Calinog, Iloilo (Binanog dance), Nedemio Badac of Brooke’s Point, Palawan (Pala’wan dances and songs).

Gloria Emag of Aborlan, Palawan (school of living traditions on Tagbanua music, songs and dances), Richard Impil of Bagong Silang, Don Salvador Benedicto (Ati language, music and dance), Marleta Mahinay of Sagay City, Negros Occidental (Ata pandan mat weaving), Rodrigo Panganiban of Nabas, Aklan (Ati traditional baskets and crafts), Delia Pauden of Hamtic, Antique (Ati languages, songs, dances  and literature).

Janeth Hanapi and Kamaria Sabturani of Sofronio Espanola, Palawan (Jama Mapun mat weaving), Tirso Serdena of Gasan, Marinduque (Kalutang playing), Francisco Eligio of Hagonoy, Bulacan (master craftsman in Singkaban making),  Abbay Tacabil  and Solaw Duca, both of Sanggani, Davao Del Sur (Sangir dances & musical instruments playing; and mat weaving, respectively), Florita Umilos of Zamboanga Del Norte (Subanen basket weaving), and Datu Josefino Gonlibo of Maramag, Bukidnon (Manobo beads and accessories making).  (Dino Balabo)