Friday, May 24, 2013

One Bulacan coalition candidates beat rivals

MALOLOS CITY—Executive Secretary Paquito Ochoa’s engineered coalition between the Liberal Party (LP) and the National Unity Party (NUP) in Bulacan worked as 17 of its provincial candidates won in the recent election.

Dubbed as One Bulacan, 15 mayoral candidates of the coalition won in 21 towns and three component cities of the province.

The One Bulacan coalition’s victory is bannered by re-elected Gov. Wilhelmino Alvarado and Vice Gov. Daniel Fernando.

Like his wife, re-elected Rep. Marivic Alvarado of the first district of the province, the governor ran unopposed in the recently concluded election.

Four other LP-NUP coalition congressional candidates trounced their rivals. They are Gavini Pancho of  the second district who will succeed his father the outgoing Rep. Pedro Pancho, and re-elected Representatives Joselito Mendoza of the third district, Linabelle Ruth Villarica of the fourth district, and Arthur Robes of the lone district of the City of San Jose Del Monte.

Also, LP-NUP coalition candidates for the provincial board emerged victorious except for Allan Ray Baluyot of the Nacionalista Party from the fourth provincial district of Bulacan.

Winning coalition candidates for the provincial board are Michael Fermin, Felix Ople Ayee Ople of the first; Lawyers Ramon Posadas and Enrique Dela Cruz of the second district; Rino Castro and Ernesto Sulit of the third district; and Jonjon Delos Santos and King Sarmiento of the fourth district.

In the mayoral race, 15 One Bulacan coalition candidates defeated their rivals.

They are Mayors Romy Castro of Balagtas, Eduardo Villanueva Jr.,of Bocaue, Patrick Neil Meneses of Bulakan, Arnel Mendoza of Bustos, Jessie De Jesus of Calumpit, Ronalto Flores of the mountain town of Donya Remedios Trinidad, Christian Natividad of Malolos City, Tito Santiago of Marilao, Joan Alarilla of Meycauayan City, Enrico Roque of Pandi, Jocell Vistan of Plaridel, Vicente Esguerra of Pulilan, Rey San Pedro of San Jose Del Monte City, Roderick Tiongson of San Miguel, and Bartolome Ramos of Sta. Maria.

Non-coalition winning mayors are Leonardo De Leon of Angat (LP) Carol Dellosa of Baliwag (independent), Ambrosio Cruz of Guiguinto (Partido ng Masang Pilipino), Raulito Manlapaz of Hagonoy (PMP), Fred Germar of Norzagaray (LP), Edwin Santos of Obando (United Nationalist Alliance), Isagani Castro of Paombong (independent), Gerald Galvez of San Ildefonso (UNA), and Cipriano Violago of San Rafael (LP).

Some of the said mayors-elect ran under the banner of LP despite the presence of One Bulacan coalition candidates in their towns. Dino Balabo