Thursday, February 27, 2014

2014 UP Gawad Plaridel call for nominations

The U.P. College of Mass Communication (UP CMC) is now accepting
nominations for the annual U.P. GAWAD PLARIDEL which recognizes Filipino media
practitioners who have excelled in any of the media (print, radio, film, television, and
new media) and have performed with the highest level of professional integrity in the
interest of public service.

 For 2014, the tenth U.P. Gawad Plaridel will be given to an outstanding
TRANSMEDIA practitioner (one who excels in at least two (2) media platforms, e.g.,
television & radio, print & online, film & television, etc.).

 The award is named after Marcelo H. del Pilar (nom de plume, Plaridel), the
selfless propagandist whose stewardship of the reformist newspaper La Solidaridad
helped crystallize nationalist sentiments and ignite libertarian ideas in the 1890s. Like
Plaridel, the recipient must believe in the vision of a Philippine society that is egalitarian,
participative and progressive; and in media that are socially responsible, critical and
vigilant, liberative and transformative, and free and independent.

 Eligible for the awards are all living Filipino individuals who have excelled in at
least two (2) media platforms. Aside from their probity and integrity, these media
practitioners must have produced a body of work that is marked by excellence and
social relevance and must have achievements recognized nationally and/or
Individuals and institutions may nominate potential recipients. Institutions
include media corporations, professional media associations, media advocacy groups,
educational institutions, cultural foundations and NGOs. Previous nominees may still be
considered for this year’s award. All current full-time faculty and staff of the UP CMC are
disqualified from the nomination.

 Deadline for nomination is on 31 March 2014. The recipient of the U.P. Gawad
Plaridel will be announced in May.

 The U.P. GAWAD PLARIDEL is given every July in commemoration of del Pilar’s
death anniversary. The awardee will receive the U.P. Gawad Plaridel trophy (designed
by National Artist Napoleon Abueva) and will deliver the Plaridel Lecture addressing
issues relevant to the state and practice of Philippine media. The recipient will have a
place of honor at all ceremonies and functions of the College. The awardee’s
photograph will be hung at the UP Gawad Plaridel Gallery in the College main lobby.

 Nomination forms and award guidelines are available at the U.P. CMC Website
( and at the UP CMC Office of Extension and External
Relations (UP CMC-OEER). Interested parties may call (02) 981-8500 loc. 2668 for details.#